WHERE AM I?

Late July update of un-happenings

Quit my job! Hoorah and a half. Twas a ridiculous series of events and timing that made it happen. Basically my boss made it obvious that I was about to be fired (for what reason, I do not know, because I was doing really well) by stopping communication with me, not having me on the schedule for the week and for the day I showed up, and for paying me for that day (which would normally have been on the next check) on the check she handed me that day. She was too cowardly to just tell me to my face and was seemingly going to wait until I called the following weekend to see if I was on the next schedule. So I was tired of waiting around and just quit because the next few weeks are going to be crazy anyway. Plus that commute was killing my gas and maybe my car too.
So that’s done. What a relief.
And I got the dream catcher tattoo I was talking about last month. It took a lot more planning than I thought but finally it happened.
Dream Catcher Tattoo

I got tired of trying to take a lameo picture in the mirror of myself–not to mention I look like garbage–so I stuck myself awkwardly on the scanner. It was fun. If it’s hard to tell, it’s on the outside of my upper left arm from the top of my shoulder almost to my elbow. I LOVE IT. The artist was such a pleasure to work with and just spend the 2 hours with. Funny and very professional, and put my first-tat nerves at ease. So anyone looking to get tattooed in Tallahassee, I reccomend Alain (French name pronounced like Alan) at Euphoria. It just healed and didn’t scab AT ALL. Still needs to be touched up though, maybe some more contrast in the feathers. But I love it. Before I got it, I thought I would always kind of be aware of it like my piercings but that isn’t the case at all. Once it stopped being sore and itchy I started to forget about it and I’ll look down or pass a mirror and be like “Whoah! That’s cool.” I’m happy.

Saw Inception. [SPOILER ALERT!] Need I say “holy shit”? It was amazing. I’m going to need to see it a second time, though, to decide whether a thing or two I noticed are what I would consider minor flaws. I shan’t say anything about that just now. Anyway, I LOVED the ending. Normally I’d criticize an open-ended conclusion as being an indecisive cop-out, but this was deceptively decisive, meaningful, and perfect. For the entirety of the movie, when… what’s-his-name… Leo knew for sure he was dreaming, he refused to taunt himself by looking at his children’s faces. But by the end, some 50ish (maybe) years after leaving his children, and after all the trials and risks in between dedicated to getting home to them, he accepted that, like Mal said, there isn’t one reality, and decided he didn’t care to know whether he was dreaming or not. A filmmaker’s decision I’d take as an implication that we can never know what’s real and what’s illusory. It’s a rare case where choosing to end the story one way or the other would be more of a cop-out. Like “Aw, the top fell, how sweet, everything worked out,” or “Ooh, it’s still spinning, spooky.”

In other news, I’ve started a series (hopefully, if the first one doesn’t turn out to be too much of a pain in the ass) of collages. I’m not done with the first one yet, but here it is in it’s current state:
Room Collage

So it’s a sort of 3D/2D collagey thing. When I was little, I would draw up doll house sort of things that would be 6 or so stories tall and flat in the way Super Mario’s world is. This is the reading room and I guess the other rooms will be similar. I’m thinking there will be 3 others to start with and they’ll be attached at the diagonal walls… so they’ll make a cube and I’ll make a roof. I guess if I want more, there can be multiple stories. I like it. I was thinking I might get some of that gross green foam you put in fake house plants and stick it in the floor piece so that I can make a paper doll of myself and have it able to move from room to room. We shall see.

DnD minis
And on a final note… this warrants no explanation except this: Eladrian Wizard, Princess Took. Watch out for my cloud of daggers.

2 responses

  1. sharaaaarazaza

    love the scanner idea! came out so nicely, both the tat and the picture.

    July 22, 2010 at 10:08 PM

  2. Christopher

    Watch out for my spirit bear! I like your dollhouse a bunch. You should make it like 10 stories high and put repunzel in the top room.

    July 23, 2010 at 5:17 PM

Leave a Reply

