WHERE AM I?

Mid-June update of un-happenings

After weeks of checking craigslist job postings 5+ times a day, printing out the last of my ink’s worth of resumes, and emailing people, I finally got a job. We call it “reception.” But really we form the infrastructure of a certain anonymous pyramid scheme. As far as I can tell, the better I do at tricking getting more people involved, the better my superiors look. I don’t sell anything though, just read a script over the phone for 7 hours straight. As boring and unchallenging and freezing and far from my apartment as it is, it’s easy work and just a relief to be making some money. Hopefully I’ll go to Jacksonville this coming weekend to visit/get my car looked at/get tattooed.

That’s right.
My first Tallahassee paycheck purchase will hopefully be my first tattoo: a beautiful light and airy dream catcher in black and gray on my left upper arm. I’ve gotten so excited about it over the last few months I’ve even dreamt of dream catchers… which I thought was odd. The problem is that I haven’t found a good illustration/photo yet. I have a pretty good idea in my mind though. I’ll have to browse some more and combine elements that I like from different ones.
I’m really excited. I realized it’s because of, number one, how important and significant dreams are to me, and how confident I’ll feel when it’s done. Not because it’s cool to have tattoos, but because I’m placing it so visibly, I see it as a sort of permanent commitment to the non-corporate lifestyle that I’m choosing to pursue. And it’s so me: feminine but not girly, black & gray so as to be neutral and ambiguous, primitive, and dream-related.

Speaking of…
Growing up, and in high school especially, one job that I had interest in someday doing (among astronaut, tattoo artist, ballerina, photographer, and type designer) was wedding planning. I almost went to UCF for Hospitality/Management or whatever they call it (when we called to let them know we were voiding my place-holding deposit check because I decided to go to FSU, they charged me a bloody fee, those backward greedy bastards). Anyway I’m completely happy with my choice of Graphic Design at FSU but I never really let go of the idea. Recently, I thought about the fact that whenever I consider an idea for a tattoo or piercing for myself, I always picture it on my wedding day, and wonder if I won’t look romantic/lovely/bridey. Thinking about that, I realized it shouldn’t and doesn’t have to be like that, and got the idea to start my own non-traditional wedding planning business based on spirituality rather than religion and honoring the marrying individuals’ individuality (hehe). I love the idea of owning my own business… but I have no idea how business works.

In other news, friends and I saw Toy Story 3 yesterday. It was INCREDIBLE. My favorite Pixar, I think. I was actually skeptical at first, thinking three films is just too many for a Disney series (i.e. Aladdin, The Lion King, Pirates of the Caribbean, etc.) but I think Pixar just doesn’t mess up. I laughed SO hard (for example, at the way Woody looks when he runs) and cried. Nothing was cliche or predictable, and it was charming  and whimsical and fun without being childish or immature. It was just beautiful. The preceding short film reminded me a little too much of my “Outside In” project conceptually, but it was lovely as well, and really cute. To psych up for the premier, I watched the first and second Toy Story films this month and Pixar’s technical progress is astounding.
I want to see it again.

Photographically, I am disappointing myself. It must appear that I’ve done even littler than I have this summer because I’ve been focusing more on medium format and 35 mm experimentation, and I don’t have access to a negative scanner during the summer. Though I admit I have not been shooting much. I went to visit my cousin E.B. in Naples with my family last month, and we went on an air boat tour through the Everglades, where I’d never been, after over 10 years of being a Floridian. I took a lot of pictures there, but as usual, only liked about 10% of them enough to share. Here are a few:

Dad searching for coupons The grassy area
Alex, King of the Everglades
Alex and E.B. on the shot luge

Well. I’m not sure what’s left. I feel like I had something else to say, but now I’ve forgotten. Adieu!

P.S. Gaby says hi and she thinks my blog is “balling.” Cheers, Gaby.

One response

  1. Jeeves

    It’s surprises me how easily I can see you doing your wedding thing. It suits you very well… In my head at least.

    June 20, 2010 at 5:18 PM

Leave a Reply

